aminal dr

Halo 4 perspective from a casual competive player

I’m just a casual player that likes and enjoys playing competitive settings. I started playing Halo MLG playlist on 2007 then found  MLG site on 2008 and just loved watching all those intense matches and competition that MLG tournaments offered. I lurked a lot in the MLG forums trying to learn and understand some of the meta game. Because my age  (I’m pretty old just look at my profile), because I have a heavy English accent and I’m just an average player with limited time to practice, I’ve been shy to join or ask to be included on customs games, all my playing has been done as a random. :wacko:

Why do I love competitive settings? Because IMHO these are the most fair settings. I played as a random all of the time and I got my ass handed to me pretty often but it didn’t matter because I was having fun and learning. The reason for getting beaten was simple, the other players or team was better. I know that sometimes the net code and spread would affect the fairness but as general rule if you lost it was because  the other players/team was superior on their skills.

We all agree that Halo 4 flunked and have a huge list of things that need to change to make  into a decent game. My perspective is about what makes a game enjoyable and addictive.

Fairness/Impartiality: Any type of competition absolutely should  be based on this principle, with a set of rules/equipment that apply to every single player. The oldest sport that is played at this time is golf because the same rules apply to amateurs and pros. Golf started on 1297 so this sport is 700 years old and  still going strong. Halo Reach and Halo 4 are not impartial due to the extreme randomness that was included on purpose trying to level the skill gap.