Sign in to follow this  
TI Inspire

Should rifles be hit scan in Halo 5?

61 members have voted

1. 1. Hit scan rifles in Halo 5?

Since we know that the next flagship title in the Halo series will be supported by dedicated servers. Does this mean that 343 shouldn't make weapons like the Battle Rifle hit scan anymore?

Every single Halo game that has come out since I started playing, which was right at the heart of Halo 2's popularity, I was a huge supporter/demander of hit-scan.  But honestly, even though I play better with hit scan, I'm starting to think that returning to leading your shots MIGHT be a decent idea for Halo 5.  Halo 3 had a bigger skill gap than Reach or 4, and I realize a lot of factors contributed to this, but I feel like having to lead your shots played a big part in it.  Plus, maybe dedicated servers could fix some of the problems with it from Halo 3.  I'm still on the fence though as to what I'd want.

The Sniper Rifle needs it most for gameplay reasons but is also the most unrealistic because it should fire faster projectiles than assault rifles.

It's far too easy to 4 shot in Halo 4 as it is.  With dedicated servers I'd like to see hit scan go for primary rifles.

It's far too easy to 4 shot in Halo 4 as it is. With dedicated servers I'd like to see hit scan go for primary rifles.

That not the fault of hitscan but massive aim assist and bullet magnetism.

• Upvote (+1) 8

This guy knows what's up. You shouldn't have to lead shots coming out of an assault rifle. That's just not how guns work and H3 could be pretty frustrating because of that. They just need to turn down bullet magnetism and aim assist so it actually takes skill to hit someone cross-map or out-BR someone rather than who got the first shot. Also, a better strafe mechanism would create a more substantial skill gap in BR showdowns

• Upvote (+1) 2

Agreeeeeeeeeeed.