Titanfall ‘Prestige’ System Explained

By: Rhys Weir | February 20th, 2014

A user on NeoGAF, known as RazorUK has recently detailed how the prestige system (known as “Regenerating”) will work in Titanfall when the game launches on March 11th. RazorUK recently leaked a ton of information that he discovered in the beta files such as the map count and gametypes, ordnance and perks.

If you are unaware of what a Prestige system is, it allows the player to reset their rank (and usually re-lock guns, perks, etc) in order to further progress in ranks (and sometimes unlock little bonuses). Such a system adds longevity to the games multiplayer and has proven extremely popular in the Call of Duty franchise.

Titanfall will feature ten levels of Regeneration, players will start off at Regeneration 1. Players can choose to regenerate in the lobby by choosing the “Take me to generation [next level]” option. You will be shown the following text:

“Warning! You will lose all that you have unlocked and be reset to level 1. All challenges will be reset.

Years of battle have taken their toll. We can regenerate you… at a cost.
Your body can be restored. But your memory and your experience…all will be lost.
When you awaken you will respawn a [next level] generation Pilot.
You will be better, sharper, acquiring experience even faster than before.”

You will be then shown three confirmation screens along the lines of this:

Are you sure?
I’m sure

Are you really sure?
Yes positive!

Would you like to go to the next gen?
Take me to next gen!

RazorUK also revealed the icons for people who have regenerated, as shown below.

Titanfall Regeneration

Regeneration Icons from 2 – 10

Please note that the files found are from the beta and may change between now and the launch happening on March 11th.

Source: NeoGAF