17 NBA Teams Join NBA 2K Esports League

By: James Glaze | May 11th, 2017

Earlier this week, the NBA 2K esports league announced that 17 of the 30 professional basketball teams will be participating in their upcoming 2018 esports season.  The inaugural season will debut with the Boston Celtics, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Golden State Warriors, Indiana Pacers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, New York Knicks, Orlando Magic, Philadelphia 76ers, Portland Trail Blazers, Sacramento Kings, Toronto Raptors, Utah Jazz and Washington Wizards.

In the news release, Managing Director of the 2K esports organization, Brendon Donhue, said,

“This is the first step in what promises to be an extraordinary league, bringing together the world’s best gamers and showcasing elite competition on an international stage. Our teams have expressed tremendous enthusiasm for esports, and we are looking forward to forming something truly unique for basketball and gaming fans around the globe.”

According to ESPN.com, each of the NBA teams involved in the 2018 season have signed on for three years, worth $750,000 per team. Take-Two, the parent company of NBA 2K publisher 2K Sports, will run the league in association with the NBA.

This is certainly exciting news for esports fans and competitors. Join the discussion on our forums!

Source | ESPN