Halo 5: Guardians Ranking System Breakdown | Beyond Entertainment


UPDATE #2 – Halo 5’s CSR system has changed! Read HERE for the most up-to-date information!


UPDATE: Quinn DelHoyo, Multiplayer Designer at 343, has confirmed that every playlist in the Beta will be ranked, and will be using the CSR system.


Halo 5: Guardians has finally been revealed to the public, and while there has been mixed reception about the reveal, we are still learning a lot of new information about both the game as well as the Multiplayer Beta that will begin on December 29th.

Halo 5 Guardians Breakout 7

To start, you may have already noticed that a Skill Based ranking system has been confirmed for Halo 5: Guardians! Josh Holmes stated that Halo 5 will be introducing a Skill Based ranking system never before seen in the Halo franchise. CSR (Competitive Skill Rating) will be a division based system where players are rated into seven tiers of skill level. It will be present not only in the full game, but also in the December Beta.


For those of you who don’t know, Joshua Menke (developer of the Black Ops 2 and StarCraft II Division systems), is currently working on this new system at 343 Industries. Today, he shared a lot of details about how the new CSR Division system will work.


Placement Matches

First off, it is important to understand how majority of League Play systems work. Players often play a few matches to get placed into a Division. These matches will roughly determine what skill level you belong in by seeing how you perform. If you lose against a few Gold-level players, but you are winning against Bronze level players, you will be placed in the Silver division, and can work your way up from there. In the Tweet below, Menke confirms that Halo 5’s CSR will be using Placement Matches to put players into each tier.

Although we don’t know if all playlists or ranked, or if there will be a Social, unranked section of matchmaking, Kevin Franklin went on to confirm that there will be separate ranks for each Ranked playlist.


Divisions and Tiers

Menke then confirms a few additional things to take note of. The first is that Halo 5’s Divisions will most likely be similar to that of industry standards (Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Diamond, etc.), and the second is that players will be able to see themselves progress and rise in the ranks of each Division. The first five divisions will each have three tiers, and the final two will be very unique, specifically designed for the best players in the game.

When Menke explains that you can see how close you are to promotion, he is referring to something along the lines of this (Advanced Warfare Ranked Play):

Advanced Warfare Ranks

From this, you can see that because the player won the match, they progressed further towards the next Division. If a player loses a match, they will lose points. The amount of points you gain or lose depends on the people you play against. Let’s pretend I’ve been placed in the Silver division (let’s be honest, I’ll be in Iron). If I play and lose against a team of Gold players, I will lose rank less than I would have if I had lost to someone from a lower Division, such as Bronze. The same goes for winning – if I beat a team of Bronze players, I won’t rank up as much compared to when I beat a team of Pro Players.

Halo 5 Guardians Empire 1

As Menke stated, each Division has 3 Tiers, most likely numbered based on skill level (Bronze 1, Bronze 2, Bronze 3). After progressing through each tier, you will earn the chance to progress to the next Division and begin proving your skill there.


Semi-Pro and Pro Divisions

 The final two Leagues of Halo 5’s ranking system are the Semi-Pro and Pro Divisions. Josh Menke has explicitly stated that while the 1-50 rating is effective, it does not accurately display the skill gap between players. In previous Halo’s, many players have achieved 50’s but the skill gap between those Rank 50 players is still very large. Halo 5’s Pro Divisions aim to fix that.

Halo 5 Guardians Truth 9

When you find that you have progressed through the first five Divisions, you will reach the Semi-Pro level. At this point, you will now have a numerical Rating that directly displays how you compare to other players. Ratings will begin around 1500 and will use an ELO-style system (this is actually how Halo 2 ranks people using 1-50’s) to categorize players. The 200 200 players with the highest ratings will comprise the Pro division.

In addition, there will be in-game leaderboards that let you view the Top 200 Ranked players in the world – the Pro players.

Menke ended our Twitter exchange by explaining that once you reach Semi-Pro status, you will remain in the upper divisions for the rest of the Season. For those of you unaware, League Play systems often feature Seasons with a rank reset at the start of each Season.

Infinity: So if you hit Semi-Pro you get locked there for the Season?

Menke: Yep. Though you may be playing most of your matches vs the lower class.

Not only do the new Pro divisions create a large visible skill gap, but they also create a monumental goal for players to strive for, and I’m sure a lot of you will be trying to make your way into these ranks, both when the Beta and the final game launch.



  • Halo 5’s ranking system is titled CSR (Competitive Skill Rating), but is far different from Halo 4
  • The 1-50 Rankings from previous Halo gamess will not return, but this is in order to create more competitive ranks with a visible skill gap
  • The CSR System Features 7 Divisions. The first five Divisions are each divided into three tiers, and the final two are a separate, high level category where players are constantly fighting for a spot in the Top 200 Leaderboard.
  • Placement Matches are used to place players into the appropriate Division for their skill level.
  • The first five Divisions will likely be named along the lines of: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Diamond/Masters
  • The final two Divisions are Semi-Pro and Pro
  • The Pro Division will feature a Leaderboard where you can view the Top 200 players in the world.
  • CSR is on a per-playlist basis, however we don’t know how many and/or which playlists will be ranked.
  • The Halo 5: Guardians Multiplayer Beta will showcase the CSR system for the first time.
  • Praise Based Menke



Are you excited to experience this brand new ranking system? Discuss the Halo 5: Guardians Multiplayer Beta on our forums now!

Also, feel free to reach out (politely) to either myself (@Above_Infinity) or Joshua Menke (@Joshua_Menke) on Twitter if you have any questions about the CSR System featured in Halo 5: Guardians.