All Destiny 2 Titan Subclasses Breakdown

By: Ryan Cox | September 3rd, 2017

WARNING: Minor game spoilers inside. Contains details regarding the unknown third subclasses in Destiny 2.

Not sure which class to play in Destiny 2? Check out our Hunter breakdown!

Destiny 2 releases in a just a few days, and fans everywhere are anticipated to learn more about the game. Just recently, Destiny 2 GameStop guides have found themselves in the hands of Destiny fans, allowing us to get a glimpse at the game’s content—missions, gear lists, class information, and more.


If you want to know more about the Titan class in Destiny 2, including abilities, perks, and upgrades, here is our Destiny 2 Titan subclasses breakdown!


In Destiny 2, some abilities exist across all three of  your subclasses. The Titan’s movement abilities (Lift) and new Class Abilities (Barricade) persist across all three of its subclasses. As for unique abilities, each subclass in the game can select from two trees that will modify the subclass to suit a specific play style. These blocks of perks can be upgraded and unlocked as you progress through the game, and only one set of perks can be used at a time.

Movement: Lift

  • High Lift: Jump while airborne to activate Lift and launch into the air at greater heights.
  • Strafe Lift: Jump while airborne to activate Lift and launch into the air with strong directional control.
  • Catapult Lift: Jump while airborne to activate Lift and launch into the air with a strong initial burst of momentum.


Class Ability: Barricade

  • Towering Barricade: Create a large barrier that can be used to reinforce a position with cover from enemy fire.
  • Rally Barricade: Create a small barrier that allows you to peek over it while aiming down sights and instantly reloads your equipped weapon when you take cover.



After Ghaul attacks the Tower and the Last City, your Guardian will be left without its Light or abilities. When you make your way through Destiny 2’s campaign, you will earn these abilities back. The first of the Destiny 2 Titan subclasses that you will obtain is the Sentinel.


The Sentinel replaces Destiny 1’s Defender subclass, and fills a similar role—the defensive, close-quarters tank archetype. Although the Ward of Dawn is still usable in Destiny 2 if the correct perks are selected, the Sentinel has a new pool of abilities, including the new Sentinel Shield super ability that can be used defensively, offensively, and as a ranged projectile.


  • Magnetic Grenade: A grenade that attaches to enemies and explodes twice.
  • Voidwall Grenade: A grenade that creates a horizontal wall of burning Void Light.
  • Suppressor Grenade: An explosive grenade that prevents enemies from using abilities for a short time.


Code of the Protector

  • Defensive Strike (Melee Ability): Kill an enemy with this Melee Ability to create an Overshield around you and nearby allies.
  • Rallying Force: Melee kills restore health for you and nearby allies.
  • Turn the Tide: Your Overshield from Defensive Strike lasts longer and increases your melee damage and reload speed.
  • Ward of Dawn: When Super energy is full, press and hold the Super button(s) to create an indestructible dome to protect you and your allies.


Code of the Aggressor

  • Shield Bash (Melee Ability): After sprinting for a short time, use this Melee Ability to unleash a devastating Shield Bash that disorients enemies.
  • Superior Arsenal: Grenade kills recharge your grenade energy.
  • In the Trenches: Kills while surrounded by enemies reduce the cooldown of your Super.
  • Second Shield: Gain an additional Shield Throw charge while Sentinel Shield is active.



The Striker is Destiny’s brawler subclass. The Striker uses powerful melee-based perks and abilities, as well as powerful Arc grenades, to charge headfirst into battles. Fists of Havoc, the Striker’s Super ability, grants the player massive area-of-effect attacks as well as high-damage melee strikes with a large range.



  • Flashing Grenade: A grenade that disorients enemies it damages.
  • Pulse Grenade: A grenade that periodically damages enemies inside its explosion radius.
  • Lightning Grenade: A grenade that sticks to any surface and emits bolts of lightning.


Code of the Earthshaker

  • Seismic Strike (Melee Ability): While sprinting, activate this Melee Ability to slam shoulder-first into your target and release an Arc explosion on impact.
  • Aftershocks: Damaging enemies with Seismic Strike recharges your grenade.
  • Magnitude: Gain an additional grenade charge. Increase the duration of grenade effects.
  • Terminal Velocity: Fists of Havoc’s ground slam attack leaves a damage-dealing field in its wake and deals more damage the longer it’s in the air.

Code of the Juggernaut

  • Frontal Assault (Melee Ability): Strike an enemy with this Melee Ability to reload your weapon and increase your weapon stability.
  • Reversal: Melee kills immediately trigger health regeneration.
  • Knockout: Critically wounding an enemy or breaking their shields increases your melee range and damage.
  • Trample: Killing enemies with Fists of Havoc extends its duration.



The Solar Titan released in Destiny: The Taken King returns in Destiny 2 once again as a heavy damage dealer. The explosive grenades, melee attacks, and Hammer of Sol Super ability keep any Sunbreaker’s battlefield ablaze in Solar light. If you’re looking for raw damage, the Sunbreaker is one of the best Destiny 2 Titan subclasses for you.



  • Incendiary Grenade: A grenade whose explosion catches enemies on fire.
  • Thermite Grenade: A grenade that sends forward a burning line of fire.
  • Fusion Grenade: An explosive grenade that burns enemies when it attaches to targets.


Code of the Fire-Forged

  • Hammer Strike (Melee): While sprinting, use this Melee Ability to unleash a blazing Hammer strike that weakens enemies.
  • Tempered Metal: Solar Ability kills grant you and nearby allies bonus movement and reload speed.
  • Battle-Forge: Enemies killed by Hammer of Sol explode.
  • Vulcan’s Rage: Hammers shatter into explosive molten embers on impact.


Code of the Siegebreaker

  • Mortar Blast (Melee): Strike an enemy with this Melee Ability to release a Solar explosion, setting nearby enemies on fire.
  • Sun Warrior: Solar Ability kills restore your health. Grenade and Melee Ability kills leave a deadly Sunspot in their wake.
  • Rings of Fire: While standing in a Sunspot, your Solar Abilities recharge faster and Super lasts longer.
  • Solar Siege: Hammers create a Sunspot on impact. While standing in Sunspots, you throw hammers faster.


How to Unlock Subclasses and Abilities

After Destiny 2’s opening mission, Homecoming, the player will be tasked with rekindling their Light and rediscovering their lost abilities. The first subclass that the Titan will unlock is the Sentinel.

After Sentinel has been unlocked, Striker and Sunbreaker can be re-obtained by finding artifacts within the game world. These artifacts will trigger quests that will lead you to earning new Titan subclasses.

Individual abilities (Grenades, jumps, class abilities, and perks) can be unlocked by using Upgrade Points. Upgrade Points are given when your character levels up or completes specific missions in the Director.

Which of the Destiny 2 Titan subclasses will you be upgrading first? Discuss the upcoming release on our forums!