Bungie Announces Destiny 2 Iron Banner and Prestige Raid

By: Devin Sidhu | October 7th, 2017

In their latest weekly blog post, the developers behind Destiny 2, Bungie, started detailing the new activities and endgame challenges that players can expect to attempt to overcome within the months leading up to the game’s first expansion.

Firstly, Faction Rallies got a quick mention. Dead Orbit took the victory with both the Future War Cult and New Monarchy factions following closely behind. The victory weapon from Dead Orbit is available now, but the contest isn’t quite over yet. Players will have a chance to snag the other victory exclusive weapons as Bungie confirmed that Faction Rallies will return.

Now to the interesting parts: When the weekly reset occurs at 2 AM PST / 5 AM EST on Tuesday (October 10th) Lord Saladin will return to the Tower, and with him comes the return of the Iron Banner Crucible event. The featured mode will be Control and players will have until the following reset to get their hands on as much of the Iron Banner exclusive gear as possible. Confusingly, one of the trademark features of Iron Banner—power/gear level advantages being enabled—has been removed. Some fans are now upset that Iron Banner is taking the shape of a standard re-skinned Crucible playlist, rather than factoring into the endgame.

For the less competitively inclined, Bungie will be bringing the toughest PvE event they have on October 10th. The Prestige Mode of the Leviathan Raid will become available to those brave enough at 10 AM PST / 1 PM EST. Bungie is keeping tight-lipped about what will be different from the normal mode, so those competing for World’s First will be going in blind yet again. There will be slight mechanical changes to encounters, and your load outs may become locked for the duration of the activity.


There will be a ton of loot for Destiny 2 fans to enjoy in October. Discuss the game with our community!